I am writing this while I am away from Youhf (for almost a month in July), and I am waiting for my laundry to dry while typing this blog post 🙂

This trip started with a 2-week holiday with my family in US, and follows with another 2-week of exchange programme for my masters course at UCLA. It has been a roller coaster ride since I arrive, when I had to take care of my family and also manage the expectations for the trip (especially when dealing with my parents. I realised that as my parents get older, they have overturned the life cycle by becoming like children. As their child, I feel like I’m their parent, taking care of whiny children). I had always prayed and asked God for patience, because I really want this gift. But each day, it gets more and more difficult.

Finally, the first 2 weeks went by, and my family went home. The next day, it was start of school! As much as I was excited to go to school, I was extremely tired with insufficient rest. Just a few days before school started, I checked my term 2 results and I did not score as well I should have, and that affected my motivation for this new term.

Today is Saturday. It was half day school and decided to jog around the campus through the botanic gardens. The tranquility was really something I really needed! I sat down on a bench, and prayed the liturgy of the hours (None).

The following verse struck me:
“May your hand be there to help me, since I have chosen your precepts.”

I must have felt that God had abandoned me and this verse made me to desire Him so much. I know He had not foresaken me. The next song on my mp3 player played “The Climb” by Miley Cyrus and goes like this:

“There’s gonna be another mountain
I’m always gonna make it move
Always gonna be a uphill battle
Sometimes I’m gonna have to lose.

Ain’t about how fast I get there
Ain’t about what’s waiting over the other side
It’s the climb.”

What I got out of this is that experiencing the journey is what really matters, especially through people who are dear, and things which are important to me. We can’t always have sweetness in everything, we have to taste the saltiness, bitterness and spiciness of life too.

